Ordinary → A meditation on the here and now where God has placed us

19 Feb

O Lord my God,
Who hath placed me here and now,
Not in the ages of Christological councils,
Nor in Russia in the 19th century,
But here and now,
Sovereign Master and Lord,
Help me be at peace,
With where thou in thy sovranty hast placed me,
Help me to desire for my ascesis,
What thou in thy sovereign love hast ordained for me.
If I seek harmony with nature,
Let it not be with Protestant heart,
Seeking to reconstruct some romantic golden age,
But let it be the harmony with nature,
Whose radix is virtue,
And a virtue that is found,
In the things that thou hast given,
For there is more harmony with nature,
In contented use of everyday technology,
Loving people and using things,
Self-forgetting in humility,
Than a heart filled with wonder,
In forest glen enthralled,
Self-impressed at return to harmony with nature.

As we approach the Lenten journey, Orthodoxy is slog, and it is only through this slog that we rightly approach and celebrate Pascha.

I invite you to read “Ordinary” at http://JonathansCorner.com/ordinary/ (via Christos Jonathan Hayward) http://JonathansCorner.com/ordinary/

Posted from WordPress

Leave a Reply

